COCKTAIL JAZZ "Outta Sight, Outta Mind"

In a blind-hearing test (how's that for an oxymoron?), "Outta Sight, Outta Mind" sounds like a new release by John Lurrie's great fake-jazz ensemble, the Lounge Lizards. But "Outta Sight, Outta Mind" is actually a new limited-edition CD by Invisible Idiot, a Rochester jazz ensemble featuring too-hip scene-sters Paul Dodd, Peggi Fournier (both formally of the Hi-Techs, Personal Effects and the Margaret Explosion), Pete LaBonne, Jack Schaefer and Shelley Valachovic.

With vaguely Eastern influences — and we're not talking about New Jersey — Fournier's sinuous sax winds its way through songs like Telley Savalas, which seems to be less a composition than a thought, and the John Cage-style piano atonalities of "Suitcase Of Beer." It's the song titles that hint at what you are hearing: "Mega Lounge", "Jack Lord", "Abstract Express" and "Lava Lamp".

— Jeff Spevak, Rochester Democrat & Chronicle August 20, 1999

Invisible Idiot, Outta Sight, Outta Mind, Earring Records

Invisible Idiot is the first cousin of the Margaret Explosion, an otherworldly lounge band that, from October 1996 through June 1998, played an esoteric weekly Friday night happy hour at the Bug Jar. The ethereal soundtrack they provided cast an often eerie, slow-motion effect on the just-out-of-work crowd's revelries. The group's improvised minor-key melodies bathed the room in a melancholy glow, suggesting old eight-millimeter home movies, and blurring the line between experience and reminiscence.

The music on Outta Sight, Outta Mind was made by many of the same musicians. Mostly recorded in six sessions during March and April 1997, in Paul Dodd and Peggi Fournier's living room, the pieces collected on Outta Sight capture much of the same mood as their Margaret counterparts. A feeling of calm detachment pervades the disc, along with a dreaminess that brings to mind Personal Effects' (Fournier and Dodd were the forces behind that beloved Rochester band) gorgeous classic "Don't Wake Me." Not every dream is a good dream, though, and I'm pretty sure I heard a stifled cry or two coming from that soprano sax, and maybe an exhortation from old Father Time to keep things moving. Outta Sight, Outta Mind is a brilliant soundtrack, for whatever movie happens to come along.

— Chuck Cuminale, From City Newspaper August 18-24, 1999

Available here for $10 (Includes Shipping)

Shipping Location:

Invisible Idiot is the original Margaret Explosion lineup performing under a different name. This cd was recorded and released in 1998 while a new Margaret Explosion lineup was performing.

Invisible Idiot song titles include:
1. son of telly savalis (listen/download)
2. kudzoo
3. slinky
4. pimientos de padron
5. suitcase of beer
6. sparky's shed (listen/download)
7. mega lounge
8. abstract express (listen/download)
9. millions of brazilians
10. harmonium continuum
11. coconut
12. knight shifter
13. pipedreams
14. beach fires
15. jujubee
16. as is
17. jack lord
18. lava lamp
19. spit

Invisible Idiot is:
Peggi Fournier -sax
Jack Schaefer - guitar, bass clarinet, cello, tenor sax, flute, piano, glockenspiel, field tapes
Pete LaBonne - bass
Paul Dodd- percussion
Shelley Valachovic - shakers, dancing

All songs by Invisible Idiot, Published by Lint Music ©1998
Recorded in the Living Room,
Mixed at Arpad's,
Mastered by Tom Green at Grenadier
Package design by 4D Advertising
Engraving by Paul Klem


See for other releases on Earring Records

personal effects photos videos free mp3s gigs discography contact